top of page
  • Writer's pictureCourtney Morgan

Thought Leadership Explained in Fewer Than 140 Characters

It wasn't until I decided to educate myself on thought leadership that I had my first "Aha!" moment.

When I first started writing, I felt I had no authority to write thought leadership articles. Though I had a point of view, I felt inexperienced compared to the contributors over at Forbes.com. It hindered my writing so much that I didn't bother to present a new idea to an already covered topic. I would rewrite the topic in my own words, from my point of view and call it "good enough”.


Horrible.


It wasn't until I decided to educate myself on thought leadership that I had my first "Aha!" moment.


Before I share my revelation, I want to address new writers reading this post. Never allow yourself to be intimated by other writers. It will hinder your success and prevent you from becoming a better writer. The difference between you and those Forbes writers is that they defined their niche. They don't let the first 20 no's stop them from writing, and they continue to seek knowledge daily.


(I am getting off my soapbox now.)


If you are a new writer, understanding thought leadership will improve your marketability. The best part is that the basic definition of thought leadership is simple to understand.

In this article, we will cover the definition of Thought Leadership and how to apply the concept.



What is Thought Leadership?


Thought Leadership - A logical argument that leads readers towards your conclusion. (82 Characters)

Thought Leadership shares a new idea in a persuasive way through a logical argument. It leads the readers towards your conclusion and presents a different point of view.


That's not so scary, right?


The best part: When you have a basic understanding of the concept, it makes writing easier.



How Do I Apply the Concept?


There are six easy steps to apply the concept of Thought Leadership.


  • Introduction Your Topic


This is your opportunity to be engaging with a relatable story or an interesting thought. The key to an introduction is to begin with something the reader already understands.


Note: Make sure you don't start with the main point of your article. The idea is to keep them reading to see your point of view before you share the bottom line.


  • Tie Your Introduction to a Second Idea

You’ve got them engaged in your story. They are hooked and eating out of the palm of your hand. This is your chance to smack your read with a second idea that is backed by research. The reason is that social proof brings strength to your idea and shows that you’ve done your research.


For example, 84% of consumers trust online reviews as much as personal recommendations. I don’t know about you, but I am the type of reader that clicks on the links in an article to see what the writer is referencing.


By showing the logic or social proof of an idea, you are making a strong connection from one point to another.


  • Take it One Step Further

Sharing another idea that ties into your main point will blow their minds! I might be over exaggerating a bit but there is truth to this. Adding a third idea is a great way to make a natural progression from your introduction to your main point. This is a great time to share a personal story or logic to strengthen your argument.


  • Make Your Final Point

Now, it’s time for the controversy. At this stage, it’s time to reveal your main point of the article. Of course, you want to make sure that your main point is a logical progression from the original idea. If needed, use a story to support your point of view.


Note: Don’t be afraid to be controversial. If you point of view challenges the norm, that is okay! Share your understanding with confidence and present yourself as a forward-thinking leader.

  • One Last Story Before You Go?

Depending on your topic, you may need to share an additional study to strengthen your point of view. (Just make sure that the study is relevant and clear.)


  • Conclusion

You did it! You wrote your thought leadership idea and presented a clear case for your point of view.


Now what?


This is where you give your article a strong conclusion that keeps your readers thinking. Afterward, show that you care about their opinion! Add a Call to Action. Ask them to share their opinions and connect with you. This will help strengthen your community and keep your targeted readers interested.


 

I hope that you found this article to be helpful. My goal is to help you feel comfortable writing thought leadership articles within your niche. Don’t be afraid to try something new and challenge yourself to be a confident leader.


Happy Writing!

8 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page